Skip to Content Options:

US Flag Air Carriers

When airfare is being charged to a federal contract or grant, travelers must be in compliance with the Fly America Act. Compliance is signified by the United States Flag Air Carrier’s code which must be noted as part of the flight number on the airline ticket or passenger receipt. Each airline has a two letter alpha code. For example, United Airlines has a code of “UA”. On an airline ticket or passenger receipt, this two digit code is designated just to the left of the flight number (e.g. UA 10). From the list of U.S. Flag Air Carriers below, you will be able to compare airline codes on the ticket with those on the list and ascertain whether or not the flight is on a U.S. Flag Air Carrier.

  • Airtran Airways (FL)
  • Alaska Airlines (AS)
  • American Airlines (AA)
  • Delta Airlines (DL)
  • Frontier Airlines (F9)
  • Hawaiian Airlines (HA)
  • Southwest Airlines (WN)
  • Spirit Airlines (NK)
  • United Airlines (UA)

The only allowable exception is if travel is supported by federal funds, travelers may choose to fly European Union airlines as long as they touch down in an EU country. A list of current member countries of the European Union is available at the Europa web site.

Please note: Travelers whose funding is coming from the U.S. Department of Defense (DOD) are not permitted to take advantage of Open Sky Agreements.

If you are ever in doubt, please contact CGA at 355-5040 or for assistance.

General References


Site Management